Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Star Trek creator to join TV Hall

The late Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry will be posthumously inducted into the US Television Academy's Hall of Fame in January.

Roddenberry's Star Trek franchise includes seven TV series and 10 films. The first TV series began in 1966.

Other inductees will be comedy duo Tom and Dick Smothers and actress Candice Bergen, who starred in 1990s CBS comedy Murphy Brown.

Saturday Night Live announcer Don Pardo will also be honoured.

25th anniversary

The Price is Right creator Bob Stewart and Emmy-award winning art director Charles Lisanby will also be inducted.

"This year's inductees have challenged and shaped popular culture and entertained us royally while doing so," said Television Academy chairman John Shaffner.

The first Hall of Fame induction ceremony in 1984 celebrated the careers of stars including Lucille Ball.

Hall of Fame candidates are submitted from the Television Academy's membership and the industry at large to the Hall of Fame selection committee.

The new group of inductees will be honoured at a ceremony on 20 January at the Beverly Hills Hotel in Los Angeles.